JCBA election, Law Day results

By The SE Texas Record | May 8, 2007

The Kelly High School team was the winner of the Mock Trial Competition sponsored by the Jefferson County Bar Association. The team accepted its award at the JCBA Law Day event.


Law Day 2007 Results

2007-08 Jefferson County Bar Association Board of Directors

President – Pat Chamblin

President Elect – Christine Kibbe

Vice President – Jimmy Hamm

Treasurer – Jesse Branick Secretary – Michele Smith

Second Term Directors – Steve Johnson, Tony Latino, Kevin Sekaly Cribbs, Mitch Smith

First Term Directors – Mike Eaves, Leanne Johnson, Ross Jones, John Werner

JCYLA Representative – Courtney Burch

2007-08 Jefferson County Young Lawyers Association Board of Directors

President – Courtney Burch

President Elect – Zack Hawthorn

Vice President – Molly Moore

Treasurer – Chris McKinney

Secretary – Sheigh Summerlin

One Year Term Directors – Frani Broussard, Colin Moore, Langston Adams, Wyatt Snider, Ronda Harkey

Two Year Term Directors – Catherine Adams, Jessica Hallmark, Tony Malley, Luke Nichols, Justin Sanderson

Minority Director – Stacie Augustine

TYLA Representative – John West

2007 Law Day Speech Contest Winner

Luis Soberon, Monsignor Kelly Catholic High School

2007 Law Day Poster Contest Winner

Shannon Boozer, 4th grader from Langham Elementary in Nederland, TX

Shannon's poster also placed 1st in her grade division at the State Bar of Texas Law Day

2007 Mock Trial winners

Monsignor Kelly Catholic High School (Kelly also placed 3rd in the State competition)

Mickey Mehaffy Pro Bono Award

Robert Hobbs, U. S. Attorney's Office

Liberty Bell Award

Mel Moreau, Region V

Blackstone Award

Judge Jack King

Outstanding Young Lawyer

Nikkee Espree, Mehaffy Weber

Texas Center Professionalism Award

Walter Crawford, Sr.

Cris Quinn Community Service Award

Jeff Branick, Jefferson County

JCYLA Law Daw Softball Tournament Results

1st Place – Nell McCallum & Associates

2nd Place – GermerNators (Germer Gertz)

3rd Place – The Witness Badgers (Provost Umphrey)

Law Day BBQ Cook-Off Results

1St Place – Nell's Barbi Crew (Nell McCallum & Associates)

2nd Place – Nolo Contendere (McPherson Monk Hughes Bradley Wimberley Steele)

3rd Place – Orgain Bell & Tucker

Best BBQ Sauce – ABQ All-Stars (Adams & Boswell)

Jefferson County Bar Association, 1001 Pearl Room 202, Beaumont, TX 77701

Phone 835-8647 . Fax 839-2317 . .

More News

The Record Network