Texas Primaries: What's on the ballot

By Marilyn Tennissen | Jan 17, 2008

The Texas Republican and Democratic primaries may not be geting as much media buzz as the Super Tuesday elections, but the state has many important races ahead in addition to the presidential nomination. Following is a list of some of the other races of interest to Jefferson County voters on March 4.


U.S. Senator
(I)John Cornyn-R
Larry Kilgore-R
Ray McCurrey-D
Gene Kelly-D
Rhett Smith-D
Rick Noriega-D

U.S. Representative-2nd District
(I)Ted Poe-R

U.S. Representative-8th District
(I)Kevin Brady-R


Texas Supreme Court-Chief Justice
(I)Wallace Jefferson-R
Jim Jordan-D

Texas Supreme Court-Justice, Place 7
(I)Dale Wainwright-R
Sam Houston-D
Baltazar Cruz-D

Texas Supreme Court - Justice, Place 8
(I)Phil Johnson-R
Linday Reyna Yanez-D
Susan Criss-D

Texas Ninth District Court of Appeals - Chief Justice
(I)Steve McKeithen-R
Jay M. Wright - R

Texas Railroad Commissioner
(I)Michael Williams-R
Mark Thompson-D
Dale Henry-D
Art Hall-D

State Representative-District 21
(I)Allen Ritter-D

State Representative-District 22
(I)Joe Deshotel-D


Judge-136th Judicial District
(I)Milton Shuffield-D

Judge-60th Judicial District
(I)Gary Sanderson-D

Jefferson County Sheriff
(I)Mitch Woods-D

Jefferson County Tax Assessor/Collector
(I)Miriam Johnson-D

Jefferson County Commissioner-Precinct 1
(I)Eddie Arnold-R

Jefferson County Commissioner - Precinct 3
Therman Bartie-D
Mark Bernard-D
Alma Cantu-D
Jimmy Dike-D
Raymond Johnson-D
Shane Sinegal-D

More News

The Record Network