Run-off ahead for Dist. 17

By David Yates | Nov 6, 2008

Democrat Chris Bell and Republican Joan Huffman will face off again in a runoff next month for Texas Senate District 17.

In the special election, Bell recieved more votes than Huffman, but did not reach the 50 percent needed to avoid a runoff election. Gov. Rick Perry will set the runoff date.

Kyle Janek, the former Republican who held the District 17 from 2003 until June 2, 2008, resigned the seat, and Gov. Rick Perry called a special election to coincide with the regular Nov. 4 general election to fill the two years remaining in the term.

The district includes portions of Harris, Brazoria, Fort Bend, Galveston, and Jefferson counties. Janek was not a candidate for renomination to the state Senate in the Republican primary held on March 4.

More News

The Record Network