GALVESTON - Reflecting the Republican Party's wave of victory across Texas, all of the races for key judicial offices in Galveston County each produced a GOP winner for the first time since Reconstruction.

The Galveston County Courts at Law will have new faces on the bench while Galveston County 122nd District Court Judge John Ellisor won reelection, supplementing what the Galveston County Republican Party deems an "enormous sweep."

Incumbent Galveston County Court at Law No. 1 Judge Mary Nell Crapitto lost her seat to challenger and Brazoria County prosecutor John Grady after 16 years. Grady, who has 12 years of litigation experience, claimed 60 percent of the vote to Crapitto's tally of 40 percent.

League City attorney Christopher Dupuy bested incumbent Galveston County Court at Law No. 3 Judge Roy Quintanilla with 59 percent of the vote to become the second judge in the court's nine-year history. Dupuy ran on a platform "to confront every case with an open mind," according to his campaign web site.

Galveston attorney and ex-Galveston City Council member Barbara Roberts defeated fellow challenger and former Galveston County 306th District Court Associate Judge Suzanne Schwab Radcliffe for the right to succeed C.G. "Trey" Dibrell III as Galveston County Court at Law No. 2 Judge.

Roberts, who vowed to avoid delays that keep cases in pre-trial for more than two years, received 61 percent of the vote.

Dibrell originally sought reelection, but removed his name from the ballot and retired earlier this year to spend more time with his family.

Ellisor was the only Galveston County District Court judge on the polls. The former correctional officer and attorney garnered 67 percent of the votes to easily secure reelection from challenger Ron Johnson.

In the gubernatorial race, incumbent Gov. Rick Perry garnered 58 percent of the votes in Galveston County. His challenger, former Houston mayor Bill White, accumulated 40 percent of the county's votes.

The GOP also has victors in the races for county judge, county commissioner, district attorney, district clerk, county clerk, county treasurer and probate judge.

More News