West Brook High School's Justin Zumel was awarded first place in the Law Day High School Art Competition for his painting "Sacrifice for Freedom." The Beaumont senior has won first place for the past four years of the contest. His art instructor is Madison Monroe.

Second place in the Law Day art contest went to Kelly High School student Christine Munda. Her piece is called "New York, New York." The Kelly art instructor is Roy Bares.

"Reminiscense" by Kendall Wilkerson of Hardin Jefferson High School was awarded third place in the competition. Kate Ducote is Kendall's art teacher.

Logan Peterson was given the fourth place award for his drawing, "Land of the Free." The Hardin Jefferson student studies art from Kate Ducote.

U.S. District Judge Marcia Crone, center, visits with third place winner Kendall Wilkerson and her family at the reception for the Law Day art competition.

Students, art instructors, family members and legal professionals mingle at the reception for the Law Day art competition.

High school students in the Eastern District of Texas-Beaumont Division were asked to submit art work depicting the theme "American Life" for the Law Day 2012 Art Contest. On April 20, the winners of the competition were announced at an awards ceremony and reception at the U.S. Courthouse.

The contest was open to students in grades 9 through 12 in Southeast Texas public and private schools within Hardin, Jasper, Jefferson, Liberty, Newton and Orange counties. The works were judged on originality, design, technique, content and appeal.

Law Day (May 1) was established by President Dwight D. Eisenhower in 1958. It celebrates the American heritage of liberty, justice and equality. It provides an opportunity to help students and the public understand how the law protects our freedoms through programs and activities conducted by schools, courts, bar associations and civic groups.

The winners of the contest received $1,000 for first place, $750 for second place, $500 for third and $250 for fourth place. The funds for the prizes/scholarships come from
the attorney admission fund of the court.

All winning and honorable mention entries will be framed and displayed for one year at the federal courthouse.

More News