Incumbent Texas Supreme Court justices beat Republican primary challengers

By Marilyn Tennissen | Mar 4, 2014

The candidates may have to wait a while for the official results, but it looks like the incumbent justices on the Texas Supreme Court will hold onto to their seats.

As of 9 p.m. Tuesday, Chief Justice Nathan Hecht, Place 7 Justice Jeff Boyd and Place 8 Justice Phil Johnson have the lead over their challengers in the Republican Party Primary. Justice Jeff Brown will also continue to serve on the court, beating challenger Joe Pool in the unexpired term in Place 6. 

But icy conditions in many parts of the state kept some polls from opening on time. Counties including Travis County where Austin is located stayed open until 9 p.m. to make up the time. 

However any vote cast after 7 p.m., the regular closing time, will be counted as a provisional ballot. The votes will be in the final tally, but results from the provisional ballots will not be included in Tuesday’s unofficial voting totals, in accordance with Texas election laws.

Some results, including those in Travis County, may not be official until Thursday, according to the Austin American Statesman.

Want to get notified whenever we write about Texas Supreme Court ?

Sign-up Next time we write about Texas Supreme Court, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

Texas Supreme Court

More News

The Record Network