AUSTIN – Texas Attorney General Greg Abbott announced June 9 that the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) has once again honored a team of lawyers from the Texas Solicitor General’s Office with a “NAAG Best Brief Award” for a legal brief filed with the Supreme Court of the United States.

Texas Solicitor General Jonathan Mitchell, Deputy Solicitor General Andrew Oldham and Assistant Solicitors General Michael Murphy, James Sullivan and Douglas Geyser received the award for writing a brief on behalf of Texas, 11 other states and the Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality that challenged the Environmental Protection Agency’s greenhouse gas regulations.

The award marks the 11th consecutive year the Texas Solicitor General’s Office has received a NAAG Best Brief Award.

“For 11 consecutive years, the dedicated and experienced lawyers working in the Texas Solicitor General’s Office have been honored with a Best Brief Award from the National Association of Attorneys General,” Attorney General Abbott said. “Our Solicitor General’s Office continues to provide the finest work the legal profession has to offer – and this award is another testament to the quality of their work on behalf of the people of Texas.”

The NAAG’s Best Brief awards are given each year in recognition of excellence in brief writing submitted to the U.S. Supreme Court by state government attorneys. The briefs were judged by a panel of independent Supreme Court experts.

Want to get notified whenever we write about U.S. Supreme Court ?
Next time we write about U.S. Supreme Court, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

U.S. Supreme Court

More News