New faces, incumbents elected in Jefferson County races

By Marilyn Tennissen | Nov 4, 2014

In addition to statewide races for governor and lieutenant governor and attorney general, local voters chose some new faces and retained some incumbents in Jefferson County contests.

For judge of the 58th Judicial District Court, Nederland attorney Kent Walston, Democrat, defeated Tom Rugg Sr., Republican. With 102 out of 109 precincts reporting, Walston received 21,434 votes, or 54.70 percent of 39,183 total votes cast.

As of 10:30 p.m., the race for 172nd District Court judge is too close to call. With 102 out of 109 precincts reporting, Republican Rick Williams has received 19,546 votes, or 49.91 percent, while incumbent Democrat Donald Floyd has 19,620 votes, or 50.09 percent. A total of 39,166 votes were cast in that race.

In the 252nd Judicial District Court, Democrat Raquel West has defeated Carolyn Drawhorn Wiedenfeld. West earned 22,421 votes, or 57.23 percent of 39, 176 total votes cast. She is the first woman elected to a district court judgeship in Jefferson County.

Incumbent Larry Thorne has retained his seat on the bench of the 317th Family District Court. He defeated Republican Jolei Shipley, earning 23,781 votes or 60.56 percent of 39,270 total votes cast.

The contest for Jefferson County Criminal District Attorney was called early with Democrat Bob Wortham beating Republican Perry Thomas with 65 percent of the votes. Wortham received 25,401 votes out of 39,372 total votes cast.

After the death of the Judge John Paul Davis of the County Court at Law No. 3, a Republican has taken the seat of his unexpired term. Clint Woods received 20,502 votes, or 52.43 percent of 39,103 total votes, defeating Democrat Terrence Holmes.

In a close race to replace District Clerk Lolita Ramos, who died last year, Charlie Wiggins, Republican, will take over as Jefferson County District Clerk, receiving 51 percent of the votes. Democrat Jamie Smith received 49 percent.

Longtime County Clerk Carolyn Guidry will hold on to her position, receiving 20,309 votes, or 51.84 percent of 39,179 total votes cast. She defeated Republican challenger Doug Landry.

For County Tax Assessor-Collector, Republican Allison Nathan Getz defeated Democrat Thomas Sigee Sr. Getz received 21,043 votes, or 54.44 percent of 38,652 total votes cast.


More News

The Record Network