Special elections end in runoffs

By David Yates | Jan 7, 2015

No winners emerged from any of the three races in Tuesday’s special election.

Two of the open congressional seats were vacated by individuals seeking to become San Antonio’s next mayor, Mike Villarreal (House District 123) and Leticia Van de Putte (Senate District 26).

In the race for the Texas Senate seat, the two top vote getters were Democratic state Representatives Trey Martinez-Fischer with 43 percent and Jose Menedez, who lagged behind with 25 percent.

Martinez is a personal injury lawyer, previously of the Mostyn Law Firm, and has been the target of Texans For Lawsuit reform PAC in the weeks leading up to the election.

TLR has publicly called Martinez a “belligerent opponent of tort reform.”

For pending runoff in the H.D. 123 race, Diego Bernal (47 percent) will face Nunzio Previtera (21 percent).

The runoff opponents to battle it out for the right to represent H.D. 17 will be John Cyrier, who netted 46 percent of the vote, and Brent Golemon (25 percent).

More News

The Record Network