Abbott appoints 4 to Jefferson & Orange County Board of Pilot Commissioners

By David Yates | Feb 29, 2016

AUSTIN – Gov. Greg Abbott has appointed Shawn Sparrow and reappointed James Scott and Brad Taylor for terms to expire on Aug. 22, 2017, to the Jefferson and Orange County Board of Pilot Commissioners.

The governor additionally appointed David Meaux for a term to expire on Aug. 22, 2016, according to a Feb. 29 press release.

The Jefferson and Orange County Board of Pilot Commissioners has exclusive jurisdiction over the pilot services provided in Jefferson or Orange County, including intermediate stops and landing places for vessels on navigable streams wholly or partially located in the board's jurisdiction.

Sparrow of Beaumont is vice president of The Houseman Companies. He is currently president of the Rotary Club of Orange and a member of the West Orange Stark CISD Career and Technical Education Advisory Board.

Sparrow previously served as the 2014 Chairman of the Board for the Greater Orange Area Chamber of Commerce and vice chairman of Economic Development.

Scott of Beaumont is president of Trans-Global Solutions, Inc. He currently serves as a member of National Railroad Construction and the American Railway Engineering and Maintenance of Way Association.

In addition, he is vice president of the Gay D. & William F. Scott Foundation. Scott earned his Bachelor of Business Administration from Southern Methodist University.

Taylor of Orange is chief operating officer of Sterling Shipyard. Prior to that, he was Production Manager for Orange Shipbuilding. Taylor studied at McNeese State University.

Meaux of Orange is President and CEO of Sabine Federal Credit Union. He currently serves as a board member on the City of Orange Economic Development Corporation and as a committee member on the Cornerstone Credit Union League’s Governmental Affairs Committee.

Meaux earned his Bachelor of Science from Lamar University.

More News

The Record Network